Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Guide for new students

E-materials

E-materials are licensed services acquired by the library. E-resources include search services and databases that can be used to find references as well as complete articles on various topics. The e-material listing also includes portals, standards, reference works and dictionaries.

As a rule, e-materials are paid services that the library has acquired for the use of customers. Their use is limited to the students and staff of the university of applied sciences.

The use of e-materials does not require a library card. You can access all of the databases with your HAKA-account. These materials are available both in the Centria network and also via remote use!

E-resources

When working outside Centria's network (home or guest network), click a link of your choice from below. Log in to the service with your personal user name and password via Haka system.

When working within Centria's network (Centria.local-network or Eduroam-wlan), you have direct access to e-resources by clicking a link of your choice from the list below.

Abi Inform Thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals. Instructions

Academic Search Complete A multidisciplinary database with more than 2,370 full text journals. Training video

Centria-Finna Centria University of Applied Sciences Library catalog

Cinahl International collection of nursing journals. Training video

DOAJ An online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.. Instructions

Ebook Central A multidisciplinary collection of e-books. Instructions | Training video

Emerald A collection of management and engineering journals. Training videos | Instructions (PDF)

ForestBioFacts (former Papermaking Science and Technology) Service focusing on wood industry material. For the first time, register with your Centria email address.

Human Anatomy Atlas is an interactive and visual 3D database of human body. Instruction video

IEL Online A collection of electrical engineering and information technology journals, conference papers and standards. Instructions

International Index to Music Periodicals 60 full-text journals in music. Instructions

Knowpap A collection of paper industry material.

Knowpulp A collection of pulp industry material.

Medline covers approximately 5600 international journals of medicine and its related fields (nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine) and contains the data of tens of millions of articles. Medline contains basic information and abstracts of articles. There's also a link to the online version of the article in the majority of articles.

Melinda Union catalog of Finnish university libraries. Includes also the collection of Centria UAS library. Instructions

MOT Multilingual dictionary.

PubMed comprises more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher websites. Instructions

SAGE Journals More than 600 full-text journals in fields of education, culture, health sciences, politics, psychology, sociology, economics, religion and communications. Instructions

Science Direct 2000 journals in fields of natural sciences, medicine and engineering. Instructions

SFS Online A collection of standards of Finnish Standards Association. When loggin in as a student, a FileOpen plug-in is needed in order to open the standards. For more information, see FQA.

VLeBooks A multidisciplinary collection of e-books. Training videos: Video 1: How to read an e-book online, Video 2: How to download an e-book