Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RefWorks guide

Exporting references from databases to RefWorks

1. Do a search in a database of your choice, select the references you want and click (depending on the database) for example:

  • RefWorks-export
  • Save or send selected references / Export - RefWorks
  • Download Record into RefWorks Direct Export Tool
  • Direct Export to RefWorks
  • RefWorks Direct Export

If none of the above can't be directly found in the database, then the references can be exported by clicking the Print/Save button (save, export, download, display, export citation, export option tms.).

2. After this (and depending on the database) you'll have to view and choose some specific settings that will be used in importing the references.

3. After approving the settings the login page of RefWorks might open into a new window. For the import to success, you'll have to be logged in to RefWorksiin.

4. In RefWorks an Import References window will open. At this point, you can define, in which folder - if there are any folders - you want the reference to go. Finally, click Import. You will be notified Import complete in a moment. Click OK. You'll find the latest imported references by clicking Last Imported Folder.

5. Change the view from Normal View > Full View to see the whole list of references. It's always recommended to check that newly imported references are complete and without errors. For example references imported from Google Scholar might sometimes contain errors and the references are only partially complete.

6. If the reference contains wrong information, or if you want to add some notes of your own to references, you can edit the data by clicking the pen icon on the right side of the page.

Examples of exporting references to RefWorks from different databases

Abi Inform

Abi Inform includes e-journals, studies, and reports from the field of economics. References go to RefWorks as follows:

1. Go to the database and run a data search

2. Select the reference/references you want and click Cite above the list.

3. Click Continue in the Export/Save window.

4. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

5. Login to RefWorks.

6. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

Centria-Finna

Centria-Finna is a search service where you can find all electronic and printed materials provided by the library, as well as learning materials from the same place. To transfer references from Finna to RefWorks, follow these steps:

1. Find the material you want and open the record.

2. Click Export Reference > Export to Guide for RefWorks on the top menu. Above the record, the announcement Export ready appears. Now click Send to Guide for Refworks button.

3. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

4. Login to RefWorks.

5. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

 

Ebook Central

Ebook Central is a multi-disciplinary international e-book service. Transfer of references from Ebook Central to RefWorks occurs as follows:

1. Go to the database, run a search and go to the information in the book.

2. Click Cite Book on the left side of the page.

3. In the Citation window, click the RefWorks button.

4. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

5. Login to RefWorks.

6. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

 

 

 

Ebsco databases

Ebsco's databases contain e-journals primarily from the medical fields. Reference transfer to RefWorks occurs as follows:

 

Exporting a single reference

  1. Go to the database, run a search and go to the information in the article you selected.
  2. Click Export from the tools on the right side.
  3. Click Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save.
  4. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).
  5. Login to RefWorks.
  6. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

 

Exporting multiple references

  1. Go to the database and run a search.
  2. In the search results list, click the + folder icon on the right side of the sources you want to move. The icon turns to yellow. You can export all references (max. 50) from the search results list at once to the Folder folder by clicking the Share button above the list and selecting Add to folder: Results (1-50).
  3. Click the Folder icon on the top bar of the page.
  4. Select the references you want to move using the Select option.
  5. Click Export from the tools on the right side.
  6. Click Direct Export to RefWorks and click Save.
  7. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).
  8. Login to RefWorks.
  9. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

Emerald

Emerald is an international e-journal service primarily from the fields of economics and engineering. Transfer of references from Emerald to RefWorks occurs as follows:

1. Go to the database and run a data search.

2. Select the reference/references you want and click Citations: download RIS above the list to convert the reference/references to a .ris terminated file that shall be stored on your own machine.

3. Log in to RefWorks unless you've already done it. Click Add > Import references.

4. Click select a file from your computer Import from a file section, search for the .ris file you've previously saved on your computer, and click Open.

5. In RefWorks, select RIS Format UTF-8 as the transfer format and click Import.

6. Click Import the second time.

7. You will be notified Import complete. Click OK.

 

 

 

 

 

IEL Online

IEL Online is an international e-journal service in the field of electricity and information technology, which also includes conference publications and standards. References are transferred to RefWorks in the following way:

1. Go to the database and run a data search

2. Select the reference/references you want and click Export on the top bar of the page.

3. In the next window, go to the Citations tab. Choose Format: RefWorks and either Include: Citation Only to transfer a short reference, or Citation & Abstract if you want to transfer an abstract along with the reference. Finally, click Export.

4. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

5. Login to RefWorks.

6. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

International Index to Music Periodicals

The International Index to Music Periodicals is an international article service for music magazines. Reference transfer to RefWorks occurs as follows:

1. Go to the database and run a data search

2. Select the reference/references you want and click Cite above the list.

3. Click RefWorks button in the Cite window.

4. Click Continue in the Export/Save window.

5. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

6. Login to RefWorks.

7. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

PubMed

PubMed is a free health sciences reference database. Transfer of references to RefWorks is successful in the following way:

1. Go to the database and run a data search.

2. Select the reference/references you want and click Send To > Citation Manager above the list.

3. In the next window, click Create file to convert the reference/references to a .nbib-terminated file that is stored on your own machine.

4. Log in to RefWorks unless you've already done it. Click Add > Import references.

5. Click select a file from your computer Import from a file section, search for the .ris file you've previously saved on your computer, and click Open.

6. The pop-up window that opened shows the note “We think this file is NLM PubMed.” Click Import.

7. Click Import the second time.

8. You will be notified Import complete. Click OK.

 

Sage Journals

Sage Journals contains over 600 full-text journals from various fields. Reference transfer to RefWorks occurs as follows:

1. Go to the database and run a data search

2. Select the reference/references you want and click Download selected citations above the list.

3. In the next window, select RefWorks in the Format field and click the Download Citation button.

4. Click Submit data to refWorks.

5. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

6. Login to RefWorks.

7. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

Science Direct

Science Direct is a service of over 2000 electronic journals. References go to RefWorks as follows:

1. In the search results list, click the name of the magazine to open the information you want to move.

2. Scroll down the view to find the Table of Contents section.

3. Click Select all to select the parts you want to move individually or all at a time.

4. Click Export Citations.

5. In the next window, select Save to RefWorks.

6. On the next page, click Yes, export to the newest version of RefWorks, which will take you to the RefWorks login page (unless you're already logged into the service beforehand).

7. Login to RefWorks.

8. In the Import references window, click Import. You will be notified Import complete. Finally, click OK.

 

 

VLeBooks

VLeBooks is a multidisciplinary e-book service. Reference transfer to RefWorks occurs as follows:

1. Go to the database, run a search and go to the information in the book.

2. Click Download Citations on the left side of the page to convert the reference to a .ris terminated file that shall be stored on your own machine.

3. Log in to RefWorks unless you've already done it. Click Add > Import references.

4. Click select a file from your computer Import from a file section, search for the .ris file you've previously saved on your computer, and click Open.

5. In RefWorks, select RIS Format UTF-8 as the transfer format and click Import.

6. Click Import the second time.

7. You will be notified Import complete. Click OK.

Exporting references to RefWorks manually

You can also add references into RefWorks manually with a form:

  1. From the top menu click Add > Create new reference. Write all the needed information into the form.
  2. Click Save
  3. The reference will move into Not in Folder folder. You can then transfer it to a folder of your choice.