Open science practices at Centria University of Applied Sciences

Typical materials collected in RDI activities include:

• survey and interview materials
• materials from various workshops and living labs
• text materials
• various measurement, test, and modeling materials
• image and sound recordings (demos, videos, animations)
• physical samples
• feedback materials

The material can be defined as material to be produced and/or used in an RDI project/research

as material that is analyzed in order to achieve the objective of the RDI project/respond to the research problem. For the sake of transparency, reliability, repeatability, and verifiability of the research, it must be possible to show on which material the research results are based.

It is not necessary to collect all the material yourself. Suitable material may already be available, for example, register data or open research material available from various data archives.

• Quantitative data can be collected through interviews, postal or online surveys, extracting information from various source documents, or measurements.

• Qualitative data, such as from interviews and group interviews, as well as from customer and service situations, is usually collected by recording it as an audio or video file.

• Written material is usually collected by sending written requests or invitations by email, post, or via a website created for this purpose.

• While most official documents are now available online, some can only be obtained by making a separate request or applying for permission to use them for research purposes.

• Obtaining register data requires a permit. Instructions for applying for permits are available from the Register Research Support Centre.

• Researchers or projects can either collect and store the data themselves or order it from a data collection or interview organisation. If a research project decides to purchase data collection services, it is advisable to send a request for quotes to several organisations. When preparing a request for quotes, you can use the research data management plan for guidance.

Source and further information: Data Archive: Data Management Manual: Data Management Planning: Data

• As open science and research become more common, so does the practice of opening up data, i.e. making it available for further use. Data collected in previous studies and published by authorities or companies, for example, can be found in various archives.

• The following table lists national and international data archives. It also includes links to data and archive search services such as Etsime, which can be used to search for domestic materials, and Re3.org, which can be used to search for suitable archives by topic.

• The table also contains information on national research infrastructures and the RDI environments and infrastructures of universities of applied sciences.